UET holds 481st Syndicate meeting

Lahore: The 481st meeting of the University of Engineering and Technology (UET) Lahore was held. The meeting was chaired by Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Mansoor Sarwar.

The Syndicate approved the recommendations of the Selection Board regarding the appointment of 7 Professors, 29 Associate Professors, 15 Assistant Professors and 7 Lecturers in various departments and Campuses in addition to the promotion of four Assistant Professors as Associate Professors under Tenure Track System as well as the appointment of Security Officer and an Assistant Engineer. The Syndicate also approved the appointment of five retired Professors as Professor Emeritus.

Further, the Syndicate approved recommendations of the Finance and Planning Committee including adjustment of few teaching positions and reduction in postgraduate tuition fee to facilitate the postgraduate students. The recommendations of the Academic Council and Advanced Studies and Research Board on amendments in academic regulations were also approved by the Syndicate.

The Syndicate also took decisions on different disciplinary cases against the university teachers and staff. After considering hearing reports in appeals of four employees, the Syndicate upheld the penalties imposed upon them by the Vice-Chancellor under PEEDA Act 2006. After a personal hearing in response to Show-Cause notices under PEEDA Act 2006, the Syndicate approved the recommendations of the Inquiry Committee regarding the imposition of minor penalties on four teachers. On account of absence from duties, the Syndicate approved to terminate the contract of one Deputy Registrar.

The Syndicate also heard two former teachers and disposed of their representations filed under section 41 of the UET Lahore Act 1974. Considering the orders of the Chancellor/Governor Punjab in appeal of a Deputy Registrar, the Syndicate closed proceedings against him under PEEDA Act.

Higher Education Commission Policy on drug and tobacco abuse in Higher Education Institutions 2021 was also adopted for implementation. The proposal to conduct an online Entry Test (ECAT-2022) for admission in undergraduate programs by the university was also approved. The Syndicate also approved the establishment few new institutes, departments, and centres at the various campuses of the university. These included departments for Energy Engineering, Environment Sciences, Occupational Health and Safety, Data Sciences, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, and Cyber Security.

Avatar photo

By Arsalan Haider

Arsalan Haider is a reporter at Academia Mag and has worked with leading national dailies and news channels. He tweets @arsalanhaider14

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *