IHC suspends the decision about PMC appointments

Islamabad High Court (IHC) suspends the decision of the single-member bench against the appointments of Pakistan Medical Commission (PMC) members.

The Justice of Islamabad High Court Mohsin Akhtar Kayani of the single-member bench had declared the appointment of Pakistan Medical Commission members, including the PMC President Dr. Arshad Taqi, and Vice President, Mohammad Ali Raza, illegal on Wednesday, 13 April 2022. The members Tariq Ahmed Khan, Dr. Rumina Hassan, Dr. Asif Loyal, Dr. Anisur Rehman, Rashana Zafar, and others including PMC President and Vice President were removed from their positions as a result of the decision.

However, the president, Dr Taqi filed an appeal against this decision immediately on that day. The hearing happened on Thursday and Justice Aamer Farooq and Justice Sardar Ejaz Khan, divisional bench of IHC, suspended the decision of Justice Mohsin Kayani restoring the positions of the said members.

Pakistan Medical Commission also issued a statement after the decision was suspended on Thursday.

The statement says, ‘earlier to this decision, IHC declared PMC Act according to the law and it cannot be challenged by any employee. PMC is working tirelessly to improve the healthcare education standards and to improve the quality of education. PMC brought a huge positive change by implementing a digital system which helped reduce the element of possible corruption.’

It further said, ‘People opposing the change tried to present the Islamabad High Court decision in their own way and tried to confuse people over which PMC made a clear statement to all stakeholders ‘not to trust any unauthenticated information’. Pakistan Medical Commission is determined to improve the healthcare standards and will keep on working on this with zeal and zest,” it stated.

Related: PMC introduces huge change to the NLE policy

By Ayesha Areej

Ayesha Areej is a staff writer at The Academia Magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *